Why Do We Dream?

For those who wish to discuss the purely scientific aspects of sleep and dreams, including new research and future technologies.
HAGART

Why Do We Dream?

Postby HAGART » 08 Nov 2013 05:57

Why Do We Dream In The First Place?

Why is it evolutionarily practical? There are many scientific theories why, but I'm no scientist. I still wonder about it, though. I understand why sleep is important to rest, and recharge the body- That makes sense. But why is there a need to dream in our minds?
To answer this, you must first define exactly what a dream is. Then ask some other questions:

So first of all:
What is a dream?
(We all know what it is, but how exactly do you define it? Especially without using waking-perspective-of-reality as a comparison).

Then let's think about:
What happens to a person's psyche, and mood when they DON'T dream? And WHY?
(It's a known fact that sleep deprivation and lack of dreams can lead to temporary psychosis. Does 'rest' recharge the body, and 'dreams' recharge the mind?).

Do other animals dream besides us humans?
(I know mammals sleep. There's a disheveled, hairy one living in my house.... NO, not me; It's my dog! I don't know if he actually dreams, but he certainly seems to chase things in his sleep sometimes... :lol: But what about other animals like ants or bees? At the most basic level, do they dream? Having similar brains, do dolphins and apes dream like us?)

I'll ask it again:
What's the purpose of dreams?
How is it an evolutionary advantage? Or is it just a side effect of self-awareness?

These are just talking points to start a discussion. Don't feel the need to answer them all in one reply. Pick one you like that strikes a chord with you, and you can get to others later, or start your own question. I'll do my best to rein people in and keep them on topic. Although this is "The Science Channel Section" any theory is valid for consideration.
If we all lucid dreamed this world would be a better place.

KungFuPanther