No Hypnagogia?

If you're new to lucid dreaming, browse this forum for answers to your questions, or post and ask for specific tips on getting started.
VeloJello

No Hypnagogia?

Postby VeloJello » 29 Apr 2017 20:30

Hello all! I'm still a serious lucid dreaming novice, so I have a bit of a question: what does it mean when I don't experience hypnagogia? I'm not aphantasic (I can picture things very clearly in my mind), but I've never had the sensations that are, in Rebecca's article, part of the hypnagogic state. I do not experience auditory hallucinations, and I do not see vivid, bright shapes or patterns as I am falling asleep. I do occasionally get a floating feeling, but other than this, I really don't understand hypnagogia. Is not seeing clear, vivid shapes and the like normal? Or am I just falling asleep before the hypnagogic state hits me? Thank you for reading.

DreamerMan99

Re: No Hypnagogia?

Postby DreamerMan99 » 30 Apr 2017 14:36

How long are you laying in bed before you give up? Also, are you obsessing over these possible feelings? Often, those looking for something obsess so strongly over the idea of the feeling, that they are unable to relax their mind and body enough for the effects to come on. Hypnagogic sensations won't come until you reach the cusp of both mind and body falling asleep. It may help you to begin meditation techniques during waking hours to better practice your relaxation skills. Also, do you take any psychoactive compounds past noon during your day? Cannabis, coffee, black tea, benadryl, etc. These can all have an impact on your ability to reach a lucid dream state or even hypnagogia.
Good luck,
Dream on.

VeloJello

Postby VeloJello » 30 Apr 2017 18:25