Does my sub-conscious know more about myself than I do?

If you're new to lucid dreaming, browse this forum for answers to your questions, or post and ask for specific tips on getting started.
Fred

Does my sub-conscious know more about myself than I do?

Postby Fred » 26 Aug 2012 06:31

I'm new to lucid dreaming, but I was wondering; If I become lucid, and I ask my dream questions, will it know something that I dont?
For example, if I asked "Who do I respect most?" Is it possible it will reply with an answer that I did not expect, and is the reply always true?
Just interested, as I can't wait to become Lucid and be able to ask my dream questions like these.

Lavendula

Re: Does my sub-conscious know more about myself than I do?

Postby Lavendula » 26 Aug 2012 08:01

I think your subconscious DOES know more than you. But that's just my opinion

[ Post made via iPad ] Image
If you fall for your reflection you will drown in a dream

Kal

Postby Kal » 26 Aug 2012 13:15

I do think that your subconscious can give you answers you might not expect or be willing to admit consciously. But I wouldn't say that your subconscious is always correct. You will have to do a bit of exploring to find out how exactly it works for you. :)

Fred

Postby Fred » 26 Aug 2012 16:01

Thanks for the replies :)

And that sounds like what I expected, sounds interesting :)

Mr.Lucid

Postby Mr.Lucid » 27 Aug 2012 23:02

Fred wrote:I'm new to lucid dreaming, but I was wondering; If I become lucid, and I ask my dream questions, will it know something that I dont?
For example, if I asked "Who do I respect most?" Is it possible it will reply with an answer that I did not expect, and is the reply always true?
Just interested, as I can't wait to become Lucid and be able to ask my dream questions like these.

Yes, I believe that the subconsious knows more than the concious "you" does. There is a theory for this: