Hello everyone, got a question (did a site search)

For general lucid chat - ask questions, share advice, set lucid dream challenges and explore the lucid realm together.
Skinsfan

Hello everyone, got a question (did a site search)

Postby Skinsfan » 24 Jul 2012 07:16

I have never tried lucid dreaming before and I hardly ever remember my dreams. Often I feel as if I never dream at all. So naturally, this whole lucid dreaming thing is piquing my curiosity. I do have some burning questions that I hope can be answered. I have done multiple searches to see if anyone has had similar concerns, and oddly I have found nothing on this forum or through google.

I just need to flat out say it: I am a survivor of horrible childhood trauma. My mind has repressed 100% of the experiences, which I consider to be a huge boon for me, both in how I grew up and now as an adult (I am 22). You can probably guess where this is going.

As I understand it, LD has a lot to do with your subconscious mind. My question is: is attempting to LD a bad idea for someone like me with a mountain of repressed memories? I know they're in there, I just can't access them either awake, or as far as I know, in regular dreaming. My fear is that this will either open Pandora's Box in my conscious mind and bring back all of these horrible experiences after I experience LD and/or will lead to terrible lucid nightmares.

I would be most grateful if anyone with similar experience can shed some light on this. Thanks much, and I look forward (perhaps) to participating in this community :)

Denmonation

Re: Hello everyone, got a question (did a site search)

Postby Denmonation » 24 Jul 2012 07:43