When is best time to use WBTB method?

For general lucid chat - ask questions, share advice, set lucid dream challenges and explore the lucid realm together.
VordinGaming

When is best time to use WBTB method?

Postby VordinGaming » 20 Oct 2011 21:33

I'm pretty much wondering what time should i set alarm for? If i go to sleep at 10P.M I usually set my alarm to 4 A.M. Is 6 hours good enough to do this method?

fuzzylogic

Re: When is best time to use WBTB method?

Postby fuzzylogic » 21 Oct 2011 11:10

Around 3 am works for me. I normally wake up around 5:30-6.

For me 1 1/2 - 2 hours before I normally awake seems to work, (although I'm still learning). This give you about 1/2 hour to stay awake and do stuff and then 60-90 minutes to enjoy the show.

What time do you normally get up?

fineganswaker

Postby fineganswaker » 21 Oct 2011 20:35

Interesting question! Especially since WBTB is the only method that works for me (so far) to induce LDing.

I think it's really a matter of personal sleep habits.

I tend to hit the hay around 11 / 11:30pm on worknights and fire up the coffee pot around 7am. I'm lucky in that I tend to wake up at least once during the night on my own--and it always seems to be right around 4:30 or 5am. So I've gotten at least five hours of "regular" sleep in before WBTB.

On worknights I usually don't stay up for any great length of time for WBTB, and I'm pretty much convinced that this is why I usually don't LD during the week--I definitely have better luck if I stay up for, like, forty-five minutes of so (depends on the night, tho'). I guess I'd also have to say that I'm lucky in that I usually wake up at least once again after that--so if I miss one REM cycle for LDing, I might be able to hit it later--or maybe have another LD if I really get lucky.

I've been able to have LDs if I just lay awake in bed for a while, but it seems to work better when I physically get up, if even just for a quick bathroom break.