Is it possible to train skills in a lucid dream?

How to control and prolong lucid dreams, increase the intensity, work with dream characters, and communicate with the subconscious.
TheAstralMan

Is it possible to train skills in a lucid dream?

Postby TheAstralMan » 24 Dec 2013 07:10

I don't know if this is the correct forum for this.
I have studied music since I was 12. I know music theory, and I have been playing the guitar for about 7 years. I am very good at it.
I am now taking the piano, and I love it, so I was wondering if it's possible to practice instrumentation in a lucid dream? I do not have that great a control over my dreams, but if I ever get to the point where I have a very focused lucid dream a few nights a week, do you think that it's possible to practice things during the dream?

Highlander

Re: Is it possible to train skills in a lucid dream?

Postby Highlander » 24 Dec 2013 12:03

Of course. You can practice everything, from sports, to arts, to math calculations... everything. I too am a musician and i played some shows in my dreams. I am also a comedian and i did some standup comedy in my dreams. It was very helpful for me to test some material and, most of all, some physical comedy that i found funny.

TheAstralMan

Postby TheAstralMan » 24 Dec 2013 15:51

Nice! Thank you for answering.
I also found this article, which further proves that practicing in dreams is beneficial:

http://hbr.org/2012/04/practicing-in-dreams-can-improve-your-performance/ar/1

Now all I have to do is get good at lucid dreaming! ;)

Summerlander

Postby Summerlander » 25 Dec 2013 17:09

Learn to control the dream environment first and then practice whatever you want in the dream world.

[ Post made via Android ] Image
"Empty cognizance of one taste, suffused with knowing, is your unmistaken nature, the uncontrived original state. when not altering what is, allow it to be as it is, and the awakened state is right now spontaneously present."

- Padmasambhava

Volke Locke