Problems with staying lucid

How to control and prolong lucid dreams, increase the intensity, work with dream characters, and communicate with the subconscious.
Hypnagogia

Problems with staying lucid

Postby Hypnagogia » 26 Dec 2013 15:11

Hey, so I'm fairly new to lucid dreaming but have been practicing reality checks and techniques such as WILD on and off since the beginning of September.
On a few occasions, including last night, I have become lucid and realise that i'm in a dreaming state in the middle of an ordinary dream that I was having before, and it seems real and i'm aware that i'm dreaming. However that is all it ever is: I dream, I realise that I'm dreaming when I ask myself 'Am I dreaming?' , and then I forget and fall back into that ordinary dream again, but the dream doesn't change I just carry on without any control over it. I guess I need to stabilise the dream somehow but when i'm in that state I always forget and fall back asleep -__- if anyone could help out i'd be very grateful xox

Highlander

Re: Problems with staying lucid

Postby Highlander » 26 Dec 2013 17:11

It seems that you didn't set any goals for when you become lucid. Try to set some goals. For example, as soon as you become lucid, try to look at your hands, or rub them against each other, or run, or fly... Think os something to do as soon as you become lucid to make you keep in that state for a little longer.

Hypnagogia

Postby Hypnagogia » 28 Dec 2013 17:18

Right, only how do I remind myself to do these things? Once I realise that I'm dreaming it doesn't even cross my mind to do these checks :O

Highlander

Postby Highlander » 28 Dec 2013 17:25

Hypnagogia wrote:Right, only how do I remind myself to do these things? Once I realise that I'm dreaming it doesn't even cross my mind to do these checks :O

That's what MILD is useful for. If you do MILD, repeating a phrase of your own, to set a goal, you'll remember.

Hypnagogia

Postby Hypnagogia » 30 Dec 2013 13:53