I had to change how I do WILD

Discuss lucid dreaming techniques including dream recall, MILD, WILD, meditation and other ways of attaining lucidity in dreams.
taniaaust1

I had to change how I do WILD

Postby taniaaust1 » 02 Apr 2015 14:24

I haven't been having many LDs as I'd left trying to do so for a while (just always tired so didn't feel like it) and only just got back into it strongly again just over a couple of weeks ago, only to then discover that things have majorly changed for me with it.

For one, I used to trigger off my WILDs by trying to go to sleep on my back. Turns out I now start snoring if I'm laying on my back the moment I go to sleep and that wakes me back up right away. All 3 of my WILD attempts a few days ago failed for that reason.. darn snoring!!

So I've had to go to doing it on my side (a position I've NEVER done WILD in before .. and its my normal sleeping position so no signal to my subconsciousness of "hey you, I'm trying to do something different here").

Also I was going straight into a dreamless deep sleep even if I held my focus for the WILD right up to the moment I feel asleep. I'd been holding my focus with focus on my chakras with breath focus or focus on counting up to 4 over and over with the breath or focus on my body. Things went good till the moment I fell asleep and then hit an unaware state each time!!! (It was sooo frustrating). So obviously I needed to do something different so I'd still be aware when I went to sleep and started to dream, I needed to program my mind to remember what I was doing when asleep

I finally decided to do breathing instead of to numbers or other things, to do it the words "lucid dream" .. thinking "lucid" on the in breath and thinking "dream" on the outbreath and changing that only if my mind was drifting into unawareness to much and hence needing more stimulation.. to think "I want to" on the in breath and "lucid dream" on the outbreath.