A Brick wall with Lucid Dreaming?

Discuss lucid dreaming techniques including dream recall, MILD, WILD, meditation and other ways of attaining lucidity in dreams.
JonathanS223

A Brick wall with Lucid Dreaming?

Postby JonathanS223 » 15 Dec 2015 20:15

Hey all.

I have been experimenting with lucid dreaming for about 18 years on and off, but only the last two years have I really been trying to focus on and improve it. I have hit a few walls that I wanted to post and see if anyone has had experiences like this and/or possible solutions.

1) For me to enter a lucid dream is rare. So far from my journal 1 out of 30 I record turn out to be lucid. I am using the reality checks every day and I do 15 minute meditation every other day. I feel as if I have come up to a brick wall and I cannot seem to figure out how to get passed it.

2) When I do have a lucid dream, I am quite aware of it. I have been able to train myself to the point that when it starts I tell myself that it is a dream and that I am dreaming. Even knowing this, I have no control over the dream and it plays out like a normal one with me being fully aware of it. I have tried to tricks of improving lucidity by saying "clarity now!" or "increase lucidity!", but nothing happens. I've even gotten to the point to threaten my sub-conscious to cooperate, but nothing happens.

Thanks for your time and I appreciate any feedback anyone can provide. :)

dragonster82

Re: A Brick wall with Lucid Dreaming?

Postby dragonster82 » 21 Dec 2015 03:14

Hello there,

Your second point is a very common thing. The thing about lucid dreaming is that although you know you are in a dream and wish to take command of it, your subconscious still refuses to believe that you have the strength and the will to actually control it.