On Dream Incubation & Recalling Intention

For general lucid chat - ask questions, share advice, set lucid dream challenges and explore the lucid realm together.
shutterbugjen

On Dream Incubation & Recalling Intention

Postby shutterbugjen » 19 Jan 2016 19:49

(crud. I just wrote this entire post then with a single keystroke managed to destroy it all. Then of course I performed a reality check but it turns out everything is on the up-and-up so here we go, 2nd attempt...)

I am having difficulty recalling my dream intentions once I become lucid. I am a beginner at this anyway, however in my last two lucid dreams once I attained lucidity, I either didn't care about what my previous "intention" was, or I simply forgot it. For example, yesterday during the day I found myself staring at a body of water. This activity generally puts me in a mild trance as I watch the light dance across the surface of the water, and while in this somewhat meditative state I thought "I'd like to experience BEING water in my next lucid dream." Something else I tried from a suggestion in Stephen LaBerge's book "Exploring Lucid Dreaming" was rather than saying, "I will have a lucid dream tonight," to instead make a statement of expectation that a lucid dream will come soon, so "I can't wait for the next time I become lucid" so that I would not feel I am setting myself up for failure or disappointment when lucidity does NOT come.