A serious look into lucid dreaming

Drop a line here to introduce yourself! Let us know your background, where you're from in the world, your lucid goals.
AndrewT

A serious look into lucid dreaming

Postby AndrewT » 27 May 2016 17:45

I just read the article on making lucid dreams last longer. I'm just getting into lucid dreams. I've had a handful in my life, but the reason that article caught my eye is because--yes--they don't last. I did actually try spinning around once. I felt like while I was spinning, it was bringing stability to the dream state. But inevitably it wasn't enough, and I lost it a few seconds later. In the half-dozen or so lucid dreams I remember, none have lasted longer than a minute or so. In the one or two dreams that did last longer, I'd have forgotten I was dreaming after a minute or so.

Over the years I've looked into how to lucid dream, but I haven't really been serious about any techniques until Buck Books put up a lucid dream ebook for $0.99 last week. I finished the book a few days ago (it promotes the MILD technique), and now I'm hooked. I'm getting myself used to doing reality checks frequently throughout the day. The book suggested using prospective memory to invoke a reminder to do a reality check--choosing one more objects each morning as a memory trigger. Today I've chosen red trraffic lights.

Another motivation for lucid dreaming is because I've recently discovered flight, and I want to explore it further. For most of my life, I was a high-jumper, not a flyer. It took a slight jump to launch me high into the air, as if the world had micro-gravity. I found myself miles above the city, only to come back down. The stomach-in-throat feeling all the way down, landing hard and painful to my feet, only to bounce back up and repeat. But a dream about a year ago was different. Instead of staying vertical to the ground, I flattened my body out like a bird--and found myself aloft in the air. No falling--I was flying.