Can anyone learn to lucid dream?

For general lucid chat - ask questions, share advice, set lucid dream challenges and explore the lucid realm together.
Gliese

Can anyone learn to lucid dream?

Postby Gliese » 08 Aug 2016 02:25

Hey everyone,
I'm an aspiring illustrator so I discovered lucid dreaming through an artist who painted his dreams. I really liked that idea so I wanted to try it too. That was roughly a year ago and during this time I read a lot of things about dreaming in general, lucid dreaming etc. but I don't understand some things so I wanted to ask here.
I read that everybody can learn to have really vivid dreams and everybody can learn lucid dreaming. And I am not so sure about that. From the time I started to be interested in dreaming in general I'm finding out more and more that maybe I'm just not the right type of person for it.I think that some people are natural dreamers and some people are just not very connected to their dreams - like me. Let me explain.
I don't remember any dream from childhood at all. I also never had a nightmare (that I remember but If I had a nightmare I think I would know). Dreams closest to nightmares are just dreams about awkward social situations. Which is logical, because I have a mild social anxiety. I am a really heavy sleeper, it's normal for me to fall asleep in 1-2 minutes and never wake up during the night. My dreams are also very often vague and "normal". I only very rarely dream about something fantasy-like. I also believe that I have an aphantasia - lack of a mind's eye. ( if people saying that they can see pictures with closed eyes are actually "seeing" them).