The elements of the dreamscape we all share

For general lucid chat - ask questions, share advice, set lucid dream challenges and explore the lucid realm together.
Wocky

The elements of the dreamscape we all share

Postby Wocky » 11 Dec 2016 13:02

Hello!

I've been reading WOLD articles for a longer time, but this is my very first post on the forum. It's nice to be here :)
I am a student of Religion studies and the reason why I decided to write here is the topic of my end-of-term paper. In this work, I'm trying to gather similarities of shamanic visions and dreams all across the world - and then compare those visions to dreams and hallucinations of the members of a modern "western" culture. It might be lucid dreams, OBE, some visions caused by hallucinogenic drugs or sensory deprivation - everything used to broaden one's mind.

Now, I know that it's hard to talk about elements of the dreamscape that every oneironaut has in common - one will use their dreams to gain knowledge about their inner self and the other one will choose to date Johnny Depp ;) It's all understandable, but I still need to ask: when you just let yourself wander through the dreamworld without changing much, do you encounter certain elements that are the same or almost the same for everyone? Some recurring scheme, an element of the dreamscape, characters with similar functions? Actions you need to perform? Anything will be of use :)

I will be extremely grateful if you decide to share your thoughts and experiences :)

Philoni

Re: The elements of the dreamscape we all share

Postby Philoni » 14 Dec 2016 01:56

This is an interesting questions you made here and could possibly be a clue question to dreaming with other people or dreaming in another dream server (you get my point)
Don't stop to watch the clock, do what it does; Keep moving

HAGART

Postby HAGART » 16 Dec 2016 05:00

What you are describing is the mental blue print upon which we are all based. Carl Jung explored this too.