Problems with WILD

If you're new to lucid dreaming, browse this forum for answers to your questions, or post and ask for specific tips on getting started.
Datme

Problems with WILD

Postby Datme » 22 Apr 2018 14:46

Hello guys

So I am pretty new to lucid dreaming and I got my first lucid dream a couple of days ago. This happened by accident through sleep paralysis so I guess it's a WILD.

Now I've been trying to WILD again intentionally but I can't seem to get into the sleep paralysis / dream.

What I do is:

- Wake up 5 - 6 hours after going to bed
- Turn off alarm making sure I'm a little bit awake but not too awake
- Lay on my back, just gazing in the darkness
- Focus on the sensations when they arise

After that nothing really happens. I won't get any sleep paralysis or anything and I just lay there for like 40 minutes (I'm not really sure how long I actually lay like this because I won't check the time). I do have the sensation that my legs and arms become heavy and somewhat paralyzed and sometimes I get visuals of what I think are dream places (for examples a beach) but still I won't get a lucid dream.

There are a few things that do bug me when I do this technique:

- I get a lot of saliva or my throat is dry and I have the urge swallow
- Sometimes I feel like I'm about to fall and I get a tingling feeling in my belly but then nothing happens
- Sometimes thoughts pop up but previous night I could easily just let them pass

I have tried the technique now for only 3 times so maybe I'm a little bit impatient. :lol:

LDer Charles

Re: Problems with WILD

Postby LDer Charles » 24 Apr 2018 00:14

Hi Datme! According to what I've heard, it sounds like you're doing everything right. I don't know why its not working. But I guess just keep at it, and go for MILD, DILD or DEILD in the mean time. I found DILD and DEILD to be the most accessible LD methods to me. And I always incorporate MILD into any technique I'm doing.