i NEED help! :(

If you're new to lucid dreaming, browse this forum for answers to your questions, or post and ask for specific tips on getting started.
James

i NEED help! :(

Postby James » 22 Jan 2012 14:45

I was really excited about lucid dreaming when I found it out, but after about a week of failing I nearly gave up, and I'm glad I didn't!

A few weeks ago I had my first lucid dreams and I was like WOW!. I had about 5 but all of a sudden i stopped having them and I haven't had one for, well, a few weeks. I could do it so easily and now I can't, why?

do I have to pretend I'm a complete beginner and do it all again? (Ive got good dream recall though from a good memory (about 3 dreams per night))

:(
Was it worth it?

lucidinthe sky

Re: i NEED help! :(

Postby lucidinthe sky » 22 Jan 2012 16:35

I think this is very common, I'm having the same problem right now. I put a tremendous amount of energy and effort into it at the beginning, then after a string of successes I figured I'd learned how to do it so I wouldn't have to work as hard. I am still trying, but was unwilling to maintain that level of effort. I think it's like the pendulum, you have to find a happy medium where you're putting an amount of effort into it that is sustainable over the long term. Maybe you won't 2 or 3 Lds per week, but will gradually increase them over time. I think for most people it takes quite a while to get consistant lucid dreams. Having those initial successes makes you feel that you are there, but it takes time. I'm going to start working harder at it again and try to find that balance.
Have you ever had a dream, Neo, that you were so sure was real? What if you were unable to wake from that dream? How would you know the difference between the dream world and the real world? Morpheus

James

Postby James » 22 Jan 2012 17:24

but i havent changed anything, even my effort!
Was it worth it?

Mayazcherquoi

Postby Mayazcherquoi » 23 Jan 2012 11:40